The Willcocks Nursery School

The Willcocks Nursery School

Early Years Learning

Our children learn through enormous fun whilst playing. Some children explore, others enjoy being involved or even observing.

All children are given stimulating resources and the time to learn. The Willcocks Nursery follows the Early Years Foundation Stage; this is the statutory curriculum for all children between birth and five years old.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the seven areas of learning and development.

The prime areas are:

  1. Personal social and emotional development
  2. Physical development
  3. Communication and language

These areas will help your child to develop skills in the four specific areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design

“The educational programme is outstanding. Children actively participate in activities that relate to all areas of learning. Topic themes include outings in the local community and visitors to the nursery. This enables children to gain first hand experiences that effectively consolidate their learning” - Ofsted